NewMissing Records Detection: flags every visit, provider, and date missing from the file. See how →
HomeAlternativesU.S. Legal Support alternatives
U.S. LEGAL SUPPORT ALTERNATIVES

U.S. Legal Support alternatives, compared on what each vendor publishes

U.S. Legal Support publishes six of the eight facts a buyer needs and lists no price. The nine alternatives below are compared on the same eight rows: processing model, human QA, turnaround, pricing model, indicative cost, export formats, fit and rating. Of the eleven tools in the table, four publish a rate you can act on.

11 tools compared·Eight rows each·Vendor claims captured 13 August 2026

What U.S. Legal Support publishes

U.S. Legal Support is the incumbent shape of this market: a nationwide bureau where record retrieval, physician and nurse review, billing summaries and AI-powered summaries are ordered through one vendor. Its own FAQ explains why there is no price list: each request is unique. Retrieval runs 30 to 40 days depending on hold periods, and the Google review base averages 4.0 out of 5 across 123 reviews and fourteen offices.

Processing modelAI-Powered Summaries + Human Record Retrieval
Human QAIncluded (retrieval); not disclosed for AI summaries
Typical turnaround30-40 days (record retrieval, hold-period dependent)
Pricing modelNot published
Indicative costNot published
Export formatsClient Portal (digital), certified mail (paper), radiology image types
Best forNationwide litigation support: record retrieval and AI summaries
Customer satisfaction4.0/5 across 123 Google Business reviews spanning 14 office listings (captured 13 Aug 2026)

Read the full U.S. Legal Support profile

Record retrieval (medical and other), medical record review/summaries prepared by physicians or nurses, medical billing summaries, chronological organ

U.S. Legal Support in the Content Hub →

Category: US Med-Legal Review / Legal Nurse Consulting · Medical Record Retrieval / ROI. Vendor claims captured 13 August 2026. Rows marked not published were searched for and not found on the vendor site.

11 tools, four questions each

Processing model, turnaround, pricing model, published rate. Follow any vendor name for the full eight-row profile. A gold tag means the vendor does not publish that fact, which is itself worth knowing before a call.

VendorProcessing modelTypical turnaroundPricing modelIndicative costPublished
U.S. Legal SupportAI-Powered Summaries + Human Record Retrieval30-40 days (record retrieval, hold-period dependent)Not publishedNot published6/8
Compex Legal ServicesHuman-managed nationwide retrieval networkPublished claim. Records retrieval: "about 15–20 days" via authorization, "around 30 days" via subpoena, on…Flat fee / alternative pricing with prepayment optionsNot published6/8
American Retrieval CompanyHuman-managed retrieval + copy-service integrationsAverage turnaround approximately 15 daysFlat/upfront fee with no-fee guarantee on failuresNot published6/8
Record Retrieval SolutionsHuman-managed retrieval + client tracking portalAverage 16 days (vs. HIPAA's 30-day requirement)Flat fee per request$45 flat fee per request (3-3,000 pages)7/8
ChartSquadAI + Human Team (AI summaries; human-team chronologies)Published claim, repeated across the site: "Results in 15 Days" and "ChartSquad gets your results in about 15…Per-page (AI summaries); per-request plus fee (retrieval)$0.35/page AI summaries (~$350 per 1,000 pages)7/8
OntellusHuman-managed retrieval + proprietary technology platformMost requests completed in under 30 business daysNot publishedNot published5/8
Magna Legal Services, LLCHuman-only / Manual Review (LNC-certified nurse reviewers)Not publishedQuote-based (tiered service options)Not published5/8
StenoHuman court reporters + AI transcript toolsSame-day delivery options availableDeferred payment (DelayPay, paid at settlement)Not published6/8
WisedocsAI + Human QA (expert clinician oversight)Hours; case study cites turnaround cut from 14 days to 2Not publishedNot published5/8
Trivent LegalAI + Human Expert Review (DepSum AI + physicians/nurses)5-7 business daysPer-page, tiered; billed only after work is completedSummaries up to 200 pages start at $2307/8
Medrecords AIAI drafts, a human decides. Every line cites its source page.Minutes to hours per filePay per page, no subscription (Self-Service); annual licence for AI Enablement and On-Premfrom 10¢ to as low as 5¢ a page, duplicates free8/8

Of the 11 tools above, 4 publish an indicative cost. Across all 326 vendors profiled in the Content Hub, 57 do. Every claim was captured on 13 August 2026 from the vendor's own site; nothing here is a Medrecords AI rating of another vendor.

HOW TO READ THE TABLE

Four questions that decide this, and one that does not

Feature lists in this market converge within a quarter. What separates these tools is commercial and procedural, and most of it is visible before you take a call.

  • Who signsSome tools produce a draft your own reviewer signs off. Others include reviewers of their own. Neither is better; they are different liabilities and different price points.
  • What the meter countsPer page, per file, per user, per credit or per year. A seat licence and a per-page rate diverge fast once one file gets large.
  • Whether output is checkableA summary you cannot trace back to a page is a summary you have to re-read the file to trust. Ask what a citation points at.
  • Where the records goWhose cloud, whose BAA, whose keys. This is the question procurement asks and the one vendor sites answer least often.
  • Not: the modelWhich foundation model sits underneath changes quarterly and tells you nothing about whether the output holds up on a file like yours.

Where Medrecords AI fits, and where it does not

The row above is ours, held to the same eight questions. So is this.

What it does

Reads the file you already have: PDFs, scans, handwriting, the DICOM imaging rather than only the radiologist's report. Removes duplicates, flags wrong-patient pages, builds the chronology, and links every line back to the page it came from.

What it costs

Ten cents a page on Self-Service, duplicates free, no seat licence and no subscription. AI Enablement and On-Prem are annual licences. All three are listed on the plans page, in numbers, without a call.

What it will not do

It does not retrieve records from providers, sign an opinion, score a case, or decide a claim. It drafts and cites; a qualified human decides. Any vendor promising otherwise is describing a liability, not a feature.

U.S. Legal Support alternatives: common questions

Compex Legal Services matches it as a national bureau with retrieval plus AI summarization. American Retrieval and Record Retrieval Solutions compete on retrieval alone, one with a flat-fee guarantee and one with a published $45 rate. Trivent Legal covers the summarization side at offshore rates with a published price list.

No, and unusually it says why: the record-retrieval FAQ states each request is unique, making it difficult to price in advance. No dollar figure appears on the site. Of the nine alternatives on this page, three publish a number.

Published retrieval turnaround is 30 to 40 days, dependent on provider hold periods. No separate figure is published for the review and summary step, and human QA on the AI summaries is not disclosed.

Only the review half. Medrecords AI does not retrieve records; the 30-to-40-day retrieval clock belongs to whoever fetches the records, and you can keep any vendor for that. The review half is the part that compresses: upload what was retrieved and the cited chronology comes back in minutes at ten cents a page.

Each row is read out of that vendor's Content Hub profile, which records what the vendor published on its own site at the capture date. Where a row says "not published", that is a finding, not an omission: we looked and the vendor does not state it. Follow any vendor name to see the full profile.

Run one of your own files against the table

Send a real file. You get the chronology, the duplicate report and the citations back, and you can judge the output rather than the marketing.

Test a file