The AI-native life care planner: a field guide to building the medical foundation with AI
For CLCP, CNLCP and physician life care planners, and for Medicare set-aside consultants. You walk away with the elements a plan's medical foundation has to show, the standards and rules that test it, an AI-native workflow for a 1,500-page file, a verification method and 3 templates.
An AI-native life care planner uses AI medical record review software to read, deduplicate and index the full record, then builds the plan's medical foundation from a cited chronology: every recommendation tied to a provider, a date, a frequency, a duration and a source page. The planner still interviews, collaborates, costs the plan and signs it. AI reads. The planner decides.
A life care plan is costed in a spreadsheet, defended in a deposition, and won or lost in the medical records. Every line in the future care table has to point back to a provider who recommended it, a date, a frequency and a duration, and the only place those live is a file that runs 1,500 to 30,000 pages. The planner who reads that file faster, and can prove every line came from it, writes a plan that holds.
The work in 10 numbers
What an AI-native life care planner does differently
The job has not changed. A life care planner assesses a person with a catastrophic injury or a chronic condition, works out what care, equipment, medication, therapy and supervision that person will need for the rest of their life, finds out what each item costs where they live, and writes it down in a document that a judge, a jury, an adjuster or a family can follow. The definition the field adopted in 1998 still opens the 4th edition standards.
"The life care plan is a dynamic document based upon published standards of practice, comprehensive assessment, data analysis, and research, which provides an organized, concise plan for current and future needs with associated costs for individuals who have experienced catastrophic injury or have chronic health care needs."
What has changed is the size of the input and the tools for reading it. A spinal cord injury file collected 3 years after the injury can hold an acute admission, inpatient rehabilitation, outpatient therapy from 2 or 3 clinics, urology, wound care, a pain practice, a DME vendor's invoices and 2 pharmacies' dispensing histories. The recommendations the plan rests on are scattered through those pages as plan lines, discharge instructions, equipment orders and 1-sentence remarks in a physiatry note. The traditional method is to read all of it and tab it by hand. The AI-native method is to have software read all of it first, deduplicate it, index it and draft a cited chronology, and then spend the planner's hours on the parts that need a planner.
The line between the 2 halves is the point of this guide. Software reads, sorts, extracts and cites. The planner interviews the evaluee and family, examines or arranges examination, collaborates with the treating team, decides what is probable rather than possible, costs each item, selects the life expectancy source, and signs. An AI-native planner is not a planner who lets a model write the plan. It is a planner whose foundation work is complete, cited and checkable because a machine did the reading and a person did the deciding.
Who this guide is for
- CLCP
- Certified Life Care Planner, the ICHCC credential held by nurses, rehabilitation counselors, therapists, physicians and other qualified health care professionals. Requires 120 hours of training, 3 years of experience in the last 5, a peer-reviewed sample plan and an exam.
- CNLCP
- Certified Nurse Life Care Planner, the credential of the Universal Life Care Planner Certification Board (formerly the CNLCP Certification Board). Requires an RN license held for 3 years, 2,000 hours of relevant paid experience, and either 120 CEUs in life care planning or 2 verified years of practice.
- Physician life care planner
- A physician who writes plans, often with a CLCP and a physical medicine and rehabilitation board certification. The physician can make medical recommendations within scope; the planning method is the same.
- MSA consultant
- A Medicare set-aside allocator, often holding the ICHCC's MSCC credential. Same records, different pricing basis and a federal reviewer. Chapter 5.
- Evaluee
- The standards' word for the person who is the subject of the plan.
What the medical foundation has to contain
"Foundation" is the word the field uses for the evidence under each recommendation. The 2025 Summit statements put it plainly. Statement 58: "Life Care Plans shall include a basis for recommendations." Statement 60: "Life Care Planners shall utilize adequate medical and other data for opinions." Statement 64: "Life Care Plans shall rely on medical/allied health professional opinions." Statement 84 names the sources: "Review of evidence-based research, review of clinical practice guidelines, medical records, medical and multidisciplinary consultation and evaluation/assessment of evaluee/family are recognized as best practice sources that provide foundation in life care plans." Statement 89: "Life Care Planners shall identify the sources of their recommendations."
In practice that means every item in the future care table has to be able to answer 8 questions. The mock foundation row below shows them pinned on a single recommendation from a hypothetical plan.
- 1The item, as named in the record"Wheelchair" is not enough. The chair type and the seating are separate items with separate costs and replacement cycles. Use the record's wording, then the HCPCS description.
- 2The recommending provider and their scopeStandard 11 and Summit statement 64: a medical item needs a medical recommendation. A therapist's seating assessment supports the cushion; the physiatrist's order supports the chair. If the only recommendation is yours and it is outside your scope, Standard 12 says collaborate.
- 3The date and the documentA recommendation made at discharge in 2023 and repeated at a 2025 follow-up is stronger than one made once. Cite both.
- 4FrequencyHow often the item recurs. For equipment, the replacement schedule; for therapy, sessions per week and weeks; for medication, dose and refills. If the record is silent, the plan must say where the frequency came from (vendor, manufacturer, guideline, your clinical practice).
- 5DurationThrough what age or event. "Lifetime" needs a life expectancy source. A time-limited item needs the end event (for example, until a planned surgery) and its page.
- 6PermanencyMaximum medical improvement, impairment rating or the treating team's statement that the deficit is permanent. Without it, the defense argues the need will resolve.
- 7Projection inputsStart age, end age or life expectancy, and the stated source of the life expectancy figure. These are the planner's inputs, and the plan says so.
- 8Source pagesPage-level citations into the produced record. A citation to "the rehab records" costs you 20 minutes on the stand. A citation to p. 884 costs you none.
Pins 2, 4 and 8 are where plans fail on cross: no medical recommendation, a frequency pulled from nowhere, and a citation that cannot be found.
The 8 elements, as a table you can print
| Element | Where it comes from in the record | What the plan says when the record is silent |
|---|---|---|
| Documented recommendation | Discharge summaries, plan lines, orders, consult letters, therapy discharge notes, DME prescriptions | "No documented recommendation; based on [guideline or collaboration], see Standard 11c" |
| Provider and credential | Signature block, note header, order author | Collaboration request sent (Standard 12); response or non-response recorded |
| Date | Note date, order date, not the print date | Undated document flagged and listed in the insufficiency request |
| Frequency | Order sig, therapy plan ("2x/week for 12 weeks"), follow-up interval | Source named: vendor, manufacturer, guideline, clinical practice |
| Duration | "Lifelong", "until surgery", "re-evaluate in 6 months" | Planner's determination, stated as such, with the basis |
| Replacement schedule | Vendor records, manufacturer warranties, seating clinic notes | Named source; CMS and state WC schedules for the MSA version |
| Permanency | MMI statement, impairment rating, "permanent" in the physiatry plan | Permanency opinion requested from the treating physician |
| Projection inputs | Date of birth, dates of injury and MMI, life expectancy source | Always the planner's, always stated |
Note the last column. The standards do not forbid a recommendation the record does not contain. They require the plan to say what the foundation is. Standard 15d in the 4th edition is 4 words a planner should keep on the wall: "Records lack of access to pertinent information."
The standards practitioners cite, and what each demands of the record work
2 documents carry most of the weight when a plan's method is questioned: the IALCP Standards of Practice, now in the 4th edition, and the Consensus and Majority Statements built up by the Life Care Planning Summits since 2000 and most recently reorganized in 2025. The certification bodies sit underneath them. A planner who can quote the specific standard behind each step of the record work answers a methodology attack in 1 sentence.
The 4th edition standards that govern records
The 4th edition organizes 18 standards by the steps of the planning process. 6 of them are about the record work directly.
| Standard | What it says | What it means for a 1,500-page file |
|---|---|---|
| 9. Comprehensive assessment | Collect data systematically and accurately; obtain information from records, the evaluee and family, and treating or consulting professionals; note any source you could not access; assess the need for further evaluations | The whole file, not the parts that fit the retainer. If a provider's records were not produced, the plan says so. |
| 10. Analysis | Follow a consistent method for organizing and interpreting data; identify current standards of care and clinical practice guidelines from reliable sources | A chronology built the same way on every case, and a stated method for it |
| 11. Future care recommendations | Ensure an appropriate foundation or rationale for each recommendation; identify the research and references relied on; consider probability versus possibility of need | The 8-column row from chapter 2 for every item; "consider" in a note is a possibility, "recommend" is a probability |
| 12. Collaboration | Seek recommendations from other qualified professionals for items outside the planner's scope | A dated letter to the treating physician for every medical item the record does not support |
| 14. Costs | Use a consistent method, geographically relevant costs, reliable sources; cite verifiable cost data | The planner's work, done after the foundation, with its own citations |
| 15. Work product | Follow a consistent narrative method; use documentation tools; consider ICD, CPT, HCPCS and ICF classifications; record lack of access to pertinent information | Cite codes where they clarify an item; list what you asked for and did not get |
2 further standards frame everything else. Standard 2: the planner "practices within their professional scope of practice." Standard 18: the planner "may engage in forensic applications," which is where chapter 4 begins. The standards are copyrighted by IARP; members can download the PDF from the IALCP section site, and the edition was published in the Journal of Life Care Planning, vol. 20, no. 3.
The Summit statements on method
The Summit statements are shorter and more quotable. As updated at the 2025 Summit, the ones a records attack reaches for are 49 (plans "shall be comprehensive and based on multidisciplinary data"), 58, 59 ("a reliable, consistent method for reaching conclusions"), 60, 62 (standardized procedures, tools, forms and formats), 63 ("consistent methodologies to evaluate similar cases"), 64, 72 ("generally accepted methodology"), 75 ("transparent and consistent"), 84 and 89. Statement 87 is the one that makes an AI-native practice legitimate on its face: "Life Care Planners have the option to use support staff under their direction and guidance in completing life care plans." Software that reads and drafts under your direction is support. The direction, and the signature, stay yours.
What the credentials require
CLCP (ICHCC)
- Who
- Qualified health care professional, licensed or certified in their discipline
- Training
- 120 hours post-graduate, 16 on orientation, methodology and standards; modules in catastrophic case management, vocational rehabilitation and a legal component with testimony experience
- Experience
- 3 years in the 5 before application
- Work product
- A sample life care plan, peer reviewed
- Renewal
- Every 5 years: 80 CEUs including 8 in ethics, or re-examination
CNLCP (ULCPCB)
- Who
- Registered nurse, license active and unrestricted for the prior 3 years
- Training
- Option 1: 120 CEUs in life care planning or equivalent in the prior 5 years, at least 10 on orientation, methodology and standards
- Experience
- 2,000 paid hours using the nursing process on lifetime needs and costs; Option 2 replaces the CEUs with 2 verified years of life care planning practice
- Work product
- None required to sit; exam only
- Renewal
- Every 5 years, 60 points of credit, RN license maintained throughout
Sources: the ICHCC CLCP page and the ULCPCB CNLCP candidate handbook. Neither body publishes a rule on AI tools. Both require the planner's own method to be consistent, documented and within scope, which is the test any tool has to pass.
Rule 702 and Daubert: how the foundation gets attacked
In federal court, and in the many states that follow it, a life care plan reaches the jury only if the proponent clears Rule 702. The 2023 amendment moved the burden into the text of the rule.
"A witness who is qualified as an expert by knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education may testify in the form of an opinion or otherwise if the proponent demonstrates to the court that it is more likely than not that: (a) the expert's scientific, technical, or other specialized knowledge will help the trier of fact to understand the evidence or to determine a fact in issue; (b) the testimony is based on sufficient facts or data; (c) the testimony is the product of reliable principles and methods; and (d) the expert's opinion reflects a reliable application of the principles and methods to the facts of the case."
Read (b) and (d) with a records file in mind. "Sufficient facts or data" is the whole record, not a summary someone else prepared. "Reliable application of the principles and methods to the facts of the case" is the foundation row: did the method you say you use actually produce this line from these pages. The Daubert factors (testing, peer review and publication, known or potential error rate, standards controlling the technique's operation, general acceptance) were written for science, and Kumho Tire (1999) extended the gatekeeping to "engineers and other experts who are not scientists," which includes planners. The factor a life care planner can always satisfy is the 4th: published standards controlling the method. That is why chapter 3 exists.
The 6 questions a cross-examiner asks about the foundation
- "Which treating provider recommended this?" If the answer is "no one, I did," the next question is scope. A nurse planner who projected a surgery without a surgeon's recommendation is outside Standard 2.
- "Show me the page." A plan with page-level citations answers in 10 seconds. A plan citing "Dr. L.M.'s records" answers in 10 minutes, during which the jury watches you look.
- "Did you read all of the records?" The only safe answer is yes, with the page count and the method. "My assistant summarized them" is an answer the other side will quote in closing.
- "Where did the frequency come from?" The order, the therapy plan, the vendor, the guideline, or your clinical experience. Any of these is fine if it is named.
- "Were there records you did not get?" Standard 9e and 15d. If you listed them and asked for them, you are following the standard. If the defense found them first, you are not.
- "Is this probable or possible?" Standard 11k. "Consider baclofen pump if oral management fails" is a possibility. "Recommend annual renal ultrasound" is a probability. The plan treats them differently and says so.
Every branch ends in a sentence the plan can carry. None ends in a number the record does not support.
State courts vary. Some apply Frye, some apply their own version of 702 without the 2023 language, and workers' compensation boards apply their own evidence rules. The foundation row works under all of them, because every test asks the same thing in different words: where did this come from.
Medicare set-asides: the federal rules, and the state question answered honestly
A Medicare set-aside uses the same records as a life care plan and a different pricing basis, and it has a reviewer the life care plan never has: the Workers' Compensation Review Contractor, applying the CMS WCMSA Reference Guide. Version 4.4 is dated July 14, 2025. The numbers below are from it.
What the reviewer does with the records
The guide is unusually explicit about foundation, and an MSA consultant can quote it back to an adjuster who wants a thinner file. Insufficient or out-of-date medical records are the single most frequent reason for a development request (9.4.1.1). IME, QME and AME reports "are not a substitute for medical records." And on what gets allocated: "If the item is recommended in the medical record and is covered by Medicare, it will be included in the WCMSA," and "The WCRC makes every effort not to include services that have not been recommended in the medical records unless the service is always part of the treatment." The reviewer, in other words, builds the same recommendation list you do, from the same pages, and prices it on Medicare's fee schedule for the state of venue instead of your geographic UCR research.
Life expectancy is the one input the guide fixes for you. Step 7 of the review: calculate it "using standard age or median rated age," with actual age and the CDC life table when no valid rated age is supplied, and a rated age accepted only on insurance company or settlement broker letterhead, independent, naming the claimant. A life care plan can choose its life expectancy source and must state it; an MSA cannot.
- Feb 23, 2024Technical alert: Section 111 expands to WCMSAs
CMS notifies responsible reporting entities that TPOC reporting will capture WCMSA information on every WC claim involving a Medicare beneficiary that reports a settlement, "regardless of whether or not an approval was previously sought from the CMS."
CMS technical alert, p. 1 - Oct 7, 2024Test environment opens
Records on a test file with a TPOC date on or after this date are subject to the new MSA edits.
CMS technical alert, p. 1 - Apr 4, 2025MSA amount reported on every WC TPOC
Field 37, MSA Amount, is required when the plan type is workers' compensation and a TPOC amount is reported; settlements without an MSA enter zeros. The MSA period, funding method and annuity deposits follow in the new fields.
CMS technical alert, pp. 1 to 2 - Jul 14, 2025WCMSA Reference Guide v4.4
The CDC life table link in section 10.3 is updated. Thresholds, record requirements and the pricing method are unchanged.
Guide v4.4, section 1.1 - Jul 17, 2025$0 proposals no longer reviewed
Parties who allocate $0 must "maintain documentation to support that allocation" on their own.
Guide v4.4, section 4.2
Since April 2025 every WC settlement with a beneficiary reports its MSA figure to CMS whether or not CMS reviewed it. The foundation under that figure is now a compliance document as well as a negotiating one.
The state question
Practitioners ask for "state MSA guidance." The honest answer is that the set-aside review process is federal: the thresholds, the submission contents, the pricing basis and the life expectancy method all come from CMS. What varies by state is around the edges, and it is real: the state fee schedule the WCRC prices against (the guide says reviewers price "according to the correct region for the state of venue"), whether a state requires board or commission approval of a compromise settlement, and state rules on future medical closure. Liability settlements have no CMS review process at all; the guide covers workers' compensation, and an allocator working a liability case documents Medicare's interests without a reviewer to send it to. This guide does not state any state's settlement rule, because each one has to be read in that state.
Where the hours go on a 1,500-page file
Planners bill the record work by the hour, and most of those hours are spent on tasks a person is bad at: reading the same discharge summary 3 times because it was produced by 3 custodians, finding the 1 therapy note that mentions a standing frame, and building a provider list from fax headers. The ledger below is a hypothetical with stated assumptions. It is not a study and the rates are not measured; it is here so you can replace each assumption with your own and see where your time actually goes.
44 hours before the interview, before a single phone call to a treating physician, before the first cost is researched. At the volumes the audience expansion plan for this site describes for catastrophic files, 5,000 to 30,000 pages, the same arithmetic runs to weeks. The work that needs a certified planner, assessment, collaboration, probability judgments and costing, gets whatever time is left.
Where the recommendations hide
The second reason the hours are long is that the lines the plan needs are not where a reader expects them. In a hypothetical file like M.R.'s they sit in 6 places.
Rehabilitation discharge summary
The densest page in the file. Equipment, bowel and bladder program, skin protocol, follow-up intervals, home modifications, attendant care hours, all in 1 to 3 pages.
Plan lines in specialist notes
Urology: catheter supplies, annual imaging, urodynamics interval. Physiatry: spasticity management, follow-up interval, "re-evaluate seating." 1 sentence each, at the bottom of a 3-page note.
Therapy discharge notes
PT and OT discharge summaries state goals met and not met, equipment trialed, and equipment "recommended, not yet obtained." The last phrase is a future care item and a gap at the same time.
DME vendor records
Invoices and delivery tickets show what was actually provided, the model, and the date, which sets the replacement clock. A cushion missing from the delivery ticket is a finding.
Pharmacy dispensing history
Dose, frequency and refill pattern for every medication, and the date the refills stop, which is either recovery, non-adherence, or a records gap.
Mentions of pending or possible surgery
"Discussed revision," "candidate for pump trial," "will refer to spine." These need the probability-versus-possibility sort from chapter 4 before they go anywhere near the table.
The AI-native workflow, step by step
This is the procedure, in the order the work happens. It assumes AI medical record review software that deduplicates, runs OCR with handwriting recognition, drafts a cited chronology and answers questions over the record with page-level citations. It does not assume the software knows anything about life care planning; the planning judgments are yours at every step.
The worked example
- 03/02/2023Fall, T12 burst fracture, complete paraplegia
Trauma admission, posterior fusion T10 to L2 on 03/04. Discharged to inpatient rehabilitation 03/19.
Operative report p. 61; discharge summary pp. 402 to 406 - 05/02/2023Rehabilitation discharge: the densest page
Ultralight manual wheelchair with pressure-relieving cushion; intermittent catheterization 5 to 6 times daily; bowel program; pressure injury prevention; home modification evaluation; outpatient PT and OT 2 times a week for 12 weeks; physiatry follow-up in 6 weeks. "See OT discharge summary for ADL equipment."
Rehabilitation discharge summary pp. 882 to 886 - 05/02/2023OT discharge summary referenced, not produced
The rehabilitation set runs pp. 413 to 890 and holds no OT discharge summary. Insufficiency list, item 1.
Referenced at p. 884 - 06/14/2023Wheelchair delivered, no cushion on the ticket
Vendor delivery ticket lists the chair model and serial. No seating line. Step 6 finding.
DME vendor records p. 1,260 - 08/30/2023PT discharge: standing frame "recommended, not yet obtained"
Goals met for transfers; standing program recommended for bone density and spasticity, equipment not obtained. A future care item and a gap.
Outpatient PT discharge summary p. 1,132 - 11/07/2023Urology plan lines
Continue intermittent catheterization; annual renal ultrasound; urodynamics every 2 years; anticholinergic continued.
Urology consult p. 1,188 - 2024 to 2025No urology visit after 11/07/2023
Annual ultrasound ordered; no 2024 or 2025 urology record in the file. Either not done or not produced. Insufficiency list, item 2.
Urology set ends at p. 1,210 - 02/19/2025Stage 2 sacral pressure injury
Wound clinic: offloading, support surface for the bed recommended, seating re-evaluation ordered.
Wound clinic note p. 1,488 - 03/11/2025Physiatry: MMI, and a possibility to sort
Permanent and stationary. Spasticity managed with oral baclofen; "consider intrathecal baclofen pump trial if oral management fails." Seating clinic referral placed.
Physiatry note pp. 1,468 to 1,471 - 11/2024 onwardPharmacy history stops
Dispensing records end 11/2024 with active prescriptions for baclofen, an anticholinergic and catheter supplies. Insufficiency list, item 3.
Pharmacy set ends at p. 1,440
10 entries out of a chronology of several hundred carry the whole future care table, 3 of them are gaps, and 1 is a possibility that must not be costed as a probability. All of it was in the file. None of it was on the same page.
Recommended against provided
Step 6 produces the table a defense expert builds first and a plaintiff's planner is often asked about last: what did the record say the evaluee needed, and what did the evaluee get.
3 of 5 rows become questions, and all 3 go to counsel in the same letter. That letter is the difference between a planner who found the gaps and a planner who was shown them.
Verification tiers: what you check, and how you prove you checked it
A cited chronology is a claim about the record, not the record. The planner who signs the plan has to be able to say what was verified, how, and by whom, and the answer has to be the same on every case. 3 tiers, written into the method and attached to the plan.
| Tier | What | How | Record of it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 1: every line that enters the plan | Each recommendation, frequency, duration, permanency statement and projection input used in the future care table | Open the cited page. Read the sentence in context. Confirm provider, date and wording. Correct the extraction if the page says something else. | Foundation worksheet (chapter 10, template 1), 1 row per item, with the verifier's initials and date |
| Tier 2: the chronology you relied on | Encounter dates, providers, diagnoses and the plan lines you did not use | Sample. Check every low-confidence OCR page, every handwritten page, every near-duplicate that differed, and a fixed proportion of the rest, chosen the same way each case. | Sampling rule stated in the method; pages checked listed |
| Tier 3: the index | Provider list, date ranges, page spans, duplicate counts | Spot check against the custodians' cover letters and the Bates ranges. | 1 line in the method section |
What goes wrong, specifically
The failure modes of AI on a medical file are known and they are not exotic. Each has a check.
The verification checklist
0 of 10 checked
AI for life care planning: where a language model helps, where it fails, and what to require of a vendor
The tools under discussion are large language models (LLMs) applied to medical records, usually with 3 supporting parts: OCR and handwriting recognition to turn scans into text, clinical NLP to recognize diagnoses, medications, procedures and codes, and retrieval that ties every generated sentence to the page it came from (the pattern called retrieval-augmented generation, or in plain words, grounded citations). A consumer chatbot has the first part and none of the rest, which is why pasting records into one is the wrong tool even before the privacy problem.
What an LLM does well on these records
- Reading at volume without fatigue. The 30-hour first read in chapter 6 is where a model is most useful and a person is least reliable. The model does not skim page 1,340 because it is tired.
- Finding plan lines by meaning, not by keyword. "Recommend," "will need," "prescribed," "referred for," "should have," "candidate for" are all ways a record expresses a future need. A model trained on clinical language recognizes them; a search for "recommend" finds 1 in 6.
- Normalizing names and codes. 3 custodians spell the same physiatrist 3 ways; the model resolves them. ICD-10 and CPT codes on billing pages are matched to the narrative, which helps the Standard 15c classification work.
- Answering questions over the record with citations. "Every mention of a standing frame" or "every equipment recommendation not matched to a delivery" returns a cited list in seconds. The list is a starting point, and every line in it is opened under Tier 1.
- Drafting the chronology in a consistent format. Summit statement 62 asks for standardized procedures, tools and formats. A generated chronology is the same shape on every case by construction.
Where it fails
Chapter 8 listed the failure modes: hallucinated detail, OCR errors on faxes, missed or misread handwriting, copy-forward and ambient AI scribe text read as fresh, and co-mingled pages. 2 more belong to the planning judgment rather than the reading. First, a model cannot tell probable from possible; it will list "consider baclofen pump" next to "annual renal ultrasound" as if they were the same kind of line. Second, a model knows nothing about this evaluee's home, family, goals or the conversation you had with the treating physiatrist, which is most of what a life care plan is. The AI-native planner uses the model for the reading and keeps a human in the loop for every judgment, and says so in the method.
The court side is simple and worth stating. In Mata v. Avianca, Inc., 678 F. Supp. 3d 443 (S.D.N.Y. 2023), lawyers were sanctioned under Rule 11 for filing a brief with fabricated case citations produced by a generative AI tool. A life care plan with a fabricated record citation is the same failure in a different document, and the remedy is the same: open every citation before it leaves your office.
Is it HIPAA compliant to use AI on the records?
It depends on the vendor's contract, not on the technology. A life care planner retained by a law firm or a carrier receives protected health information under an authorization or a court order; a vendor that creates, receives, maintains or transmits that information on the planner's behalf is handling PHI. The HIPAA Privacy Rule lets a covered entity disclose PHI to a business associate only with "satisfactory assurance that the business associate will appropriately safeguard the information," documented in a written contract (45 CFR 164.502(e)), and 45 CFR 164.504(e) sets what that business associate agreement must contain, including the permitted uses and disclosures. Whether your own practice is a covered entity, a business associate of your retaining client, or neither depends on who you work for and under what agreement; the practical rule is to use only a vendor that will sign a BAA and whose security is attested, and to confirm your own obligations with counsel. Uploading a record to a consumer chatbot that signs nothing is the failure this paragraph exists to prevent.
The vendor checklist
What to require before a file goes near any AI medical record review tool. This list is written for a life care practice; the IME physician guide and the legal nurse consultant guide on this site carry versions for those roles.
0 of 10 checked
The templates
3 documents, copyable. The worksheet is the foundation table from chapter 2 as a form. The request letter is step 8 of the workflow addressed to retaining counsel. The prompt is for an AI medical record review tool that cites to the page; it is written so the output lands in the worksheet's columns.
1. Foundation worksheet, 1 row per future care item
Fill it before the costing spreadsheet. Attach it to the plan or keep it in the file; either way, bring it to the deposition.
LIFE CARE PLAN FOUNDATION WORKSHEET Evaluee: [INITIALS] Date of injury: [DATE] Plan date: [DATE] Record reviewed: [N] pages, [N] custodians, Bates [START] to [END] Method: [NAME AND VERSION OF YOUR WRITTEN RECORDS METHOD] ROW [N] Category: [e.g. Wheelchair and seating / Therapy / Medication / Supplies / Surgery / Attendant care / Home modification / Follow-up] 1. Item (record wording, then HCPCS or CPT if clarifying): [ITEM] 2. Recommended by: [PROVIDER, CREDENTIAL, SETTING] Within recommender's scope: [Y/N] 3. Date and document: [DATE], [DOCUMENT TYPE] Repeated or confirmed on: [DATES] 4. Frequency: [AS STATED IN RECORD] Source if record silent: [VENDOR / MANUFACTURER / GUIDELINE / CLINICAL PRACTICE] 5. Duration: [LIFETIME / UNTIL EVENT / THROUGH AGE] End event page: [PAGE] 6. Replacement schedule: [INTERVAL] Source: [VENDOR RECORD p. / MANUFACTURER / SCHEDULE] 7. Permanency: [MMI DATE AND SOURCE / IMPAIRMENT RATING / TREATING STATEMENT] Page: [PAGE] 8. Projection inputs (planner's): start age [AGE], end [AGE OR LIFE EXPECTANCY], life expectancy source [SOURCE] 9. Source pages: [p. ___, p. ___, p. ___] 10. Probability: [PROBABLE / POSSIBLE] Basis for the call: [RECORD WORDING OR PROVIDER RESPONSE] 11. Provided to date: [DELIVERED / DISPENSED / NOT OBTAINED] Page: [PAGE] 12. Open question for provider or counsel: [TEXT OR "NONE"] 13. Tier 1 verification: page opened and wording confirmed by [INITIALS] on [DATE] Status: [FOUNDED / COLLABORATION REQUESTED / RECORDS REQUESTED / DROPPED]
2. Records insufficiency request to retaining counsel
Send it after step 8 and before the first draft. Date it; the date is part of the foundation (Standard 9e, 15d).
[DATE]
[COUNSEL NAME]
[FIRM]
Re: [EVALUEE INITIALS], [MATTER], life care plan: records needed before the first draft
I have reviewed the production received on [DATE]: [N] pages from [N] custodians, Bates [START] to [END]. The list below identifies records that the file itself shows should exist and that are not in the production, or that are referenced by documents in the production. I need them to found specific future care items, and the plan will note any that are not obtained.
A. Referenced in the file, not produced
1. [DOCUMENT], referenced at p. [PAGE] ("[QUOTED REFERENCE]"). Needed for: [ITEM].
2. [...]
B. Ordered or scheduled, no record of the visit
1. [ORDER, PROVIDER, DATE, p. PAGE]. No visit record after [DATE]. Needed to confirm: [FREQUENCY / STATUS / RESULT].
2. [...]
C. Providers named, no records from them
1. [PROVIDER / FACILITY], named at p. [PAGE]. Date range needed: [RANGE].
2. [...]
D. Date ranges with no records
1. [START] to [END], [CATEGORY]. Last record p. [PAGE]; next record p. [PAGE].
2. [...]
E. Vendor, pharmacy and billing records
1. [DME vendor] delivery and service records from [DATE]; the only ticket in the file is p. [PAGE].
2. Pharmacy dispensing history from [DATE] forward; the file ends at [DATE], p. [PAGE].
F. Imaging and operative records
1. [STUDY], reported at p. [PAGE]; images not in the production.
Please let me know which of these counsel will request and the expected date. Where a record cannot be obtained, I will record that in the plan's method section and treat the related item as [COLLABORATION REQUESTED / NOT FOUNDED], as the standards require.
[NAME, CREDENTIALS]
3. AI prompt: future care recommendation extraction with page citations
For an AI medical record review tool that answers over the uploaded file with page-level citations. Do not paste records into a tool that has not signed a BAA. Verify every returned line at its page (Tier 1) before it goes anywhere.
From the uploaded record only, list every future care recommendation, order, referral, prescription, equipment or supply recommendation, follow-up interval and home modification recommendation. Include recommendations expressed as "recommend", "will need", "prescribed", "referred for", "should", "plan", "continue", "candidate for", "consider", and "discussed". For each, return 1 row with these fields: 1. Item, in the record's own words 2. Recommending provider and credential, as shown on the page 3. Date of the document (not the print or fax date) 4. Document type (discharge summary, progress note, order, therapy discharge, vendor record, pharmacy record) 5. Frequency as stated, or "not stated" 6. Duration as stated, or "not stated" 7. Wording class: ORDER or RECOMMEND or REFER or CONSIDER or DISCUSSED 8. Exact quoted sentence 9. Page citation Then, as a second list, every equipment or supply item above matched against any delivery ticket, invoice or dispensing record in the file, with the delivery date and page, or "no delivery record found". Then, as a third list, every document referenced in the record that is not in the uploaded file (for example "see OT discharge summary"), with the page where it is referenced, and every ordered follow-up with no later visit record from that provider, with the order page and the last page from that provider. Do not infer frequency, duration or need. Do not assign costs. Do not estimate life expectancy. If a field is not on the page, write "not stated". Do not include anything that is not cited to a page in the uploaded file.
How Medrecords AI fits a life care planning practice
Medrecords AI is medical record review software. A planner uploads the production; the software deduplicates it (duplicate pages are not billed), runs OCR that routes typed, handwritten and tabular pages to the right engine and flags low-confidence pages, drafts a cited medical chronology with every entry linked to its source page, and answers questions over the record with citations. It reads about 100 pages a minute, so a 2,000-page file comes back in about 20 minutes. Every line carries a citation to the page it came from, which is what makes the Tier 1 check in chapter 8 a click instead of a search.
For this audience, 3 outputs do the work of chapter 7. The future care tables list the documented recommendations with their frequency, duration and source pages, and flag any item that has no record support instead of filling it in. The life care plan drafting output organizes those cited items by category in your own template, behind a visible gate that stays on until a certified planner signs off. The missing records flags list the providers, date ranges and referenced documents that should be in the file and are not, which is the raw material for template 2. Co-mingled and wrong-patient page flags and supplemental production comparison cover the late productions that arrive after the first draft. The life care planner solution page shows the deliverables, and the cost projection worksheet is a free spreadsheet, with the costing columns left to you.
What comes back from the file
Drafted, cited, ready for your review
- Deduplicated, indexed record with a provider list and page map
- Cited chronology, every entry linked to its page
- Future care recommendation list with provider, date, frequency, duration and page
- Recommended-against-provided matching from vendor and pharmacy pages
- Missing records, undated pages and wrong-patient flags, each cited to the evidence that implies it
- Export in your template, citations preserved
What stays yours
The software does not do these, by design
- Costing the plan: unit costs, geographic research, cost sources
- Life expectancy: the figure and its source
- Probable versus possible, and every clinical judgment
- Collaboration with the treating team
- Interview, examination, home assessment
- Retrieving records from providers: it reads what you upload
- The signature
Pricing is simple: Self-Service starts at 10 cents a deduplicated page, down to 5 cents at volume. Duplicate pages are free. Enterprise On-Prem is an annual license, no per-seat fees. Access to Self-Service starts within 1 business day of the demo. Security is SOC 2 and HIPAA with a BAA, with retention you configure and deletion on request; the details are on the security page. Flags are signals for you to weigh, never verdicts. See pricing.
See your next catastrophic file as a cited foundation.
Book a demo on a file like the ones on your desk, then run your first case free on us. Every line comes back cited to its source page. You review, you revise, you sign.
Scheduling only. No records move from a public page.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the medical foundation of a life care plan?
- The evidence under each recommendation: a documented recommendation by a provider acting within scope, its date, its frequency and duration, the replacement schedule for equipment, a permanency statement, and the planner's stated projection inputs, each cited to a page in the record or to a named outside source. Summit statements 58, 60, 64, 84 and 89 and Standard 11 of the 4th edition describe it.
- Who can write a life care plan?
- Qualified health care professionals working within their scope of practice, in the standards' words. The common credentials are the CLCP (ICHCC: 120 hours of training, 3 years of experience in the last 5, a peer-reviewed plan and an exam) and the CNLCP (ULCPCB: an RN license held 3 years, 2,000 hours of relevant experience, and 120 CEUs or 2 verified years of practice). Physicians write plans too, often with a CLCP.
- Can AI write a life care plan?
- No, and a planner should not want it to. AI medical record review software can read, deduplicate and index the file, draft a cited chronology, and extract every documented recommendation with its page. The assessment, collaboration, probability judgments, costing, life expectancy selection and signature are the planner's, and the standards require the planner's method to be described and consistent.
- Is it HIPAA compliant to upload medical records to an AI tool?
- Only with a vendor that signs a business associate agreement and protects the records under the HIPAA Security Rule. 45 CFR 164.502(e) requires satisfactory assurances documented in a written contract before PHI goes to a business associate, and 164.504(e) sets the contract's contents. A consumer chatbot that signs nothing is not that vendor. Confirm your own practice's obligations with counsel.
- Can ChatGPT summarize medical records for a life care plan?
- A general chatbot can summarize text, but it does not sign a BAA, does not cite to the page, and will produce confident sentences that are on no page. A summary that cannot be verified line by line cannot found a plan that will be cross-examined. Use a tool built for records that cites every line, and open every citation.
- How does Rule 702 apply to a life care plan?
- Since December 1, 2023, the proponent must show it is more likely than not that the testimony rests on sufficient facts or data, reliable principles and methods, and a reliable application of them to the facts. For a planner that means the complete record, a written method that follows the published standards, and page-level citations showing the method produced each line. State courts and workers' compensation boards apply their own versions.
- What records does CMS require with a Medicare set-aside?
- Treatment records for the last 2 years of treatment of the work injury, from all providers; carrier payment histories printed within 6 months of submission with a 2-year breakdown by category; and prescription records sufficient to show dose and frequency. IME, QME and AME reports are not a substitute for treatment records. Insufficient or out-of-date records are the most frequent reason for a development request (WCMSA Reference Guide v4.4, sections 9.4.1.1 and 9.4.4).
- Does a life care plan need the treating physician's recommendation for every item?
- Every medical item needs a medical recommendation from someone within scope, which is why Summit statement 64 says plans "shall rely on medical/allied health professional opinions" and Standard 12 says the planner seeks collaboration for items outside their own scope. Items within the planner's own scope can be the planner's recommendation, with the basis stated.
- How do I handle a surgery the record says the patient "may" need?
- Sort it as a possibility, not a probability (Standard 11k). Ask the treating surgeon or physiatrist to say whether it is more likely than not; cite the answer. If no answer comes, list the item in a separate section of the plan with its page and the question that was asked, and do not cost it as probable.
- Does AI medical chronology software replace reading the records?
- It replaces the first read of every page, including the duplicates, and it produces the index and the cited chronology. The planner still reads the chronology in full, opens every page cited in the plan, reads every low-confidence and handwritten page, and samples the rest by a stated rule. The method section of the plan says exactly that.
Sources and method
Every rule, standard, statement and threshold above was checked against the source listed here in October 2026, and quoted text is verbatim. The Standards of Practice are copyrighted by IARP and are quoted in short phrases only. The M.R. file, its page numbers, the hour ledger and its assumptions are hypothetical. Product facts come from this site's product pages. Nothing here is legal, medical or life care planning advice, and workers' compensation and evidence rules vary by state.
- Standards of Practice for Life Care Planners, 4th edition, Journal of Life Care Planning, vol. 20, no. 3 (2022): the 1998 definition; Standards 2, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15 and 18; the IALCP scope and standards page.
- Johnson, Williams, MacKenzie and Feerick, Consensus and Majority Statements Since 2000: Updated at the 2025 Life Care Planning Summit, Journal of Life Care Planning, vol. 23, no. 2 (2025): statements 49, 58, 59, 60, 62, 63, 64, 72, 75, 84, 87 and 89.
- Federal Rule of Evidence 702, as amended effective December 1, 2023; the Daubert standard (Legal Information Institute): Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, 509 U.S. 579 (1993); General Electric v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136 (1997); Kumho Tire v. Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137 (1999).
- CMS WCMSA Reference Guide, version 4.4 (July 14, 2025): sections 1.1, 4.2, 8.1, 9.4.1.1, 9.4.4 (steps 7, 8 and 9) and 10.3.
- CMS technical alert, Change to Worker's Compensation Reporting (February 23, 2024): Section 111 WCMSA reporting effective April 4, 2025; field 37, MSA Amount.
- ICHCC, Certified Life Care Planner: eligibility, training hours, experience, peer-reviewed plan, recertification.
- ULCPCB, CNLCP Handbook for Candidates (revised October 16, 2023): eligibility requirements, renewal.
- 45 CFR 164.502(e) and 164.504(e), business associates; 45 CFR 164.524(b)(2), the 30-day access deadline with 1 extension of up to 30 days, for the evaluee's own records request; Mata v. Avianca, Inc., 678 F. Supp. 3d 443 (S.D.N.Y. 2023).
Related guides: the AI-native IME physician, the AI-native legal nurse consultant, workers' compensation apportionment in the records, medical source statements and RFC, how to get medical records for a lawsuit, and TBI causation and long-term impact.
Ranked lists
- The 7 best AI tools for personal injury law firms in 2026The best AI tools for personal injury law firms in 2026, ranked across record review, chronologies, and demand drafting, with…
- The 10 best AI medical record review software in 2026The best AI medical record review software in 2026, ranked with pricing, processing model, pros and cons, and the honest…
- The 8 best medical record review services in 2026The best medical record review services and companies in 2026, ranked with turnaround, pricing model, pros and cons, and where…